Book review for the polar bear explorers club by Alex bell
Reviews

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club – Alex Bell

It sounded like a respectable and worthy enough death for an explorer – tumbling from an ice bridge to be impaled upon a mammoth tusk – but Stella really, really didn’t want that to happen, just the same.

Join Stella Starflake Pearl and her three fellow explorers as they trek across the snowy Icelands and come face-to-face with frost fairies, snow queens, outlaw hideouts, unicorns, pygmy dinosaurs and carnivorous cabbages . . . When Stella and three other junior explorers get separated from their expedition can they cross the frozen wilderness and live to tell the tale?

***

What can I say about The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club? Other than acknowledge that its a crime its been sat on my shelf unread for three years!

This middle grade fantasy is the absolute epitome of what I love about middle grade fantasy. A young female explorer kicking all the stereotypes in the teeth and enjoying an amazing adventure. A father figure who wants the best for his daughter, no matter what rules that breaks. An adult who understands that children can be whatever they want to be. A friendship formed like no other.

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club has it all. The adventure that Stella and her friends go on gets your heart racing. They meet all kinds of weird and wonderful magical creatures. And people who you wouldn’t want to meet in the dark. The whole book was fantastic from start to finish.

As an adult reading a middle grade book you do have to excuse how obvious some parts of the story are. I knew there must be something special about Stella from the second I read that Felix found her in the snow and I guessed what it was very early on. But I wouldn’t have picked that up at 8 or 9.

I loved the magical creatures that played on words in this book, like the Frosties. And I loved that Felix and Stella had breakfast each morning with Pygmy Dinosaurs. I couldn’t think of anything better to keep in an orangery!

The copy of this book that I have is an advanced readers copy. So I don’t have the official published version but I hope it has a map in it – all books with maps are awesome in my opinion. My copy states that its perfect for fans of Phillip Pullman, Lemony Snicket and C S Lewis and I couldn’t agree more. If you love these authors you are bound to love this book.

Now if you don’t mind, I’m off to purchase books two and three in the series because I just can’t get enough of them…

The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club was published in October 2017. My copy was sent to me from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

To buy the book (affiliate link used) or find out more visit:
Amazon |
Hive | Goodreads | Author Website | Publisher Website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: