Bookish and Blogish News (#31)

Bookish and Blogish news is my weekly wrap up of the news around the YA industry and my blog this week. This includes cover reveals, new book announcements, new author sign ups, book trailers, blog tours and more. I hope you enjoy!

***

New Signing: Amalie Howard signed to Strange Chemistry

Strange Cheimstry have signed up author Amazlie Howard for two books, the first will be called The Almost Girl. The Almost Girl will be released in early 2014 and sounds like a must read for anyone out there who loves their dystopian/fantasy novels to have a hint of romance: 
Seventeen-year-old Riven is as tough as they come. Coming from a world ravaged by a devastating android war, she has to be. There’s no room for softness, no room for emotion, no room for mistakes. A Legion General, she is the right hand of the young Prince of Neospes, a parallel universe to Earth. In Neospes, she has everything: rank, responsibility and respect. But when Prince Cale sends her away to find his long-lost brother, Caden, who has been spirited back to modern day Earth, Riven finds herself in uncharted territory.

Thrown out of her comfort zone but with the mindset of a soldier, Riven has to learn how to be a girl in a realm that is the opposite of what she knows. Riven isn’t prepared for the beauty of a world that is unlike her own in so many ways. Nor is she prepared to feel something more than indifference for the very target she seeks. Caden is nothing like Cale, but he makes something in her come alive, igniting a spark deep down that goes against every cell in her body. For the first time in her life, Riven isn’t sure about her purpose, about her calling. Torn between duty and desire, she must decide whether Caden is simply a target or whether he is something more.

Faced with hideous reanimated Vector soldiers from her own world with agendas of their own, as well as an unexpected reunion with a sister who despises her, it is a race against time to bring Caden back to Neospes. But things aren’t always as they seem, and Riven will have to search for truth. Family betrayals and royal coups are only the tip of the iceberg. Will Riven be able to find the strength to defy her very nature? Or will she become the monstrous soldier she was designed to be?

***

Cover Reveal: The Disgrace of Kitty Grey by Mary Hooper 

Eeeeee! If there is one author I adore who will never fail to amaze me and lure me in, its Mary Hooper! I love the sound of Mary Hooper’s new book which will be released in May by Bloomsbury, and I adore this beautiful cover!
Kitty is living a happy, carefree life as a dairymaid in the countryside. The grand family she is employed by looks after her well, and she loves her trade, caring for the gentle cows and working in the cool, calm dairy. And then, of course, there is Will, the river man who she thinks is very fond of her, and indeed she is of him. Surely he will ask her to marry him soon?

Then one day disaster strikes: Will disappears. Kitty is first worried and then furious. She fears that Will has only been leading her on all this time, and has now gone to London to make his fortune, forgetting about her completely. So when Kitty is asked to go to London to pick up a copy of Pride and Prejudice, the latest novel by the very fashionable Jane Austen, Kitty leaps at the chance to track down Will. But Kitty has no idea how vast London is, and how careful she must be. She has barely arrived when she falls victim to eagle-eyed pickpockets who spot the country born-and-bred Kitty and relieved her of her money and belongings. Dauntingly fast, she has lost her only means of returning home and must face the terrifying prospect of stealing in order to survive . . .

Fans of Philippa Gregory, Eva Ibbotson and Georgette Heyer will devour this new romantic adventure from the author of Fallen Grace


***

Neil Gaiman’s ‘A Calendar of Tales’ available for download

Neil Gaiman wrote a series of short stories, based on tweets that people sent him. How cool is that? The short stories are available to download and read here. However, that’s not all, there will be limited edition, printed copies of the tales and Neil and Blackberry, who are sponsors of this endeavour, are asking readers to illustrate the stories for that! Just got to the link to find out more! 
***
The Lorien Legacies book four title revealed
I love this series and quite excitedly, the title of the fifth book was revealed this week on the I Am Number Four facebook page. The title will be “The Fall of Five” and is due for release in America on August 27th 2013. The UK release is usually kept quite close with this series so I guess we can expect that during the summer too! 
***
New Delirium Cover Revealed
This is the, lovely, new cover for the first book in the Delirium series. I am really not a fan of the paperback of this book, so much so I made my friend buy me the hardback instead for a birthday present! Then they changed the covers again for the paperbacks of the follow ups so I am so pleased they have decided to change this one. I love the new cover and it fits perfectly within the series now! 
  • Ooooh I’ve read one Mary Hooper book & loved it. Must try more 🙂

  • The Disgrace of Kitty Grey looks amazing and I love Mary Hooper’s books. I have a few left on my shelf waiting to be read so I’ll have to get around to them soon.
    I much prefer the new Delirium cover to the one I have. I still need to read Pandemonium and will have to read it soon.
    The Almost Girl sounds really good. I’ll keep an eye out for it.
    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  • I love the cover of Kitty Grey. I was so disappointed the proof hasn’t got it!

  • I really love the UK covers for Pandemonium and Requiem so I’m really glad that Delirium has had a gorgeous cover makeover too 🙂 like you I really didn’t like the paperback!

  • I have never read any of Mary Hooper’s other books *shock horror*. I was interested in The Disgrace of Kitty Grey before, but now you have praised the authors other work I think that I will definitely have to request this one.